The Book is Here

Blank bookcover with clipping path Now Available in Paperback and Kindle at Amazon.com 

As those who have been following chapter excerpts on my blog know, these memoirs covers my Coast Guard Career from Academy days to retirement. I am proud to share these back of the book blurbs.

“In my experience, the best way to learn something is to find a teacher who blends historical facts with the art of story-telling. Dick Marcott proves he is the master in “The View from the Rigging”. Those of us who paralleled his professional life, can smile often and remember our own experiences as Dick reviews his Coast Guard career. Others are introduced to the extraordinary blend of the professional and personal commitment of both the service member and the family of those who dedicate themselves to public service in the uniform of their country. It’s a story told well and highlighted with very real moments of serious accomplishment at work and at home. We should all be so fortunate to have such stories to tell our grandchildren.”

James M. Loy ADM, U. S. Coast Guard (Retired) Commandant, 1998-2002

 “I never cease to be amazed at what I learn from Captain Marcott’s memoirs of a fascinating life I never knew existed. The stories are a tribute to his service that he sells with beautiful detail, humor, and pathos.

Dani Weber, Asst. Prof. of English, SUNY Sullivan

“If you’ve ever been to sea, you’ll enjoy my friend Dick Marcott’s tales of Coast Guard Duty. If you haven’t, this book might count as your first deployment.”

David Poyer, author of TIPPING POINT and ONSLAUGHT

Author: Dick

I have to tell you right up front. I’m a story teller. After graduation from the Coast Guard Academy in 1957 my twenty-eight years of active duty have given me a lot of fodder. Finally heeding my daughter’s pleas, “Dad, you have got to write those stories down,” my memoirs are a work in progress. Four chapters have been published in the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford’s award winning literary journal, Baily’s Beads. My blog posts will share excerpts from many of my “good stories, well told.”

Leave a Reply

